Zoom out Default size Zoom In Search Site print page

ROP History

The achievement of security, peace and stability is the main objective of any society. Since early times, the Omani society has been characterized by a social structure that maintained peace and stability within it. This particular social organization had a simple structure known as Al Askar (the police force). They are responsible for simple policing work including guarding the markets enforcing of the law, etc. Every wilaya in the country had its own group of government-appointed Askars, who carried out simple policing tasks such as watching the local suqs and helping the authorities in enforcing the rulings. They did not have any regular training or uniform, but they carried traditional rifles and wore ammunition belts. The highest rank in this system was Ageed Al Askar , literally Colonel, followed by the deputy Ageed, who assisted the Ageed in supervising the group of soldiers.

With the emergence of the blessed Renaissance dawn in 1970, like all other sectors in the country, the police witnessed drastic change and progress. The Royal Oman Police witnessed a new leap in its activities by joining the International Criminal Police Organization (Interpol) in 1972, and the Arab Organization for Social Defense Against Crime) in the same year which gave the ROP an impetus.

In a ceremony held at the Police Training School on 4 November 1974 marking the occasion in which the police force received its flag from His Majesty the Sultan, His Majesty addressed ROP personnel. He said, "In handing you our and your flag today, we have decided to confer a new name on the police force. From now on you will be known as the Royal Oman Police."

As a result of the Supreme Commander of Police efficient and phased planning. the ROP was transformed radically until it became today a developed and modern police force. With its organizational structure the ROP is so competent and capable to face the challenges of modernity.

You are welcome to see our ORGANIZATION page and navigate through for more details.

You may also visit the ROP HISTORY EVENTS page to view the history of events within the ROP.

 

 

ROP History

اضغط هنا لطباعة الصفحة اضغط هنا للبحث في الموقع اضغط هنا لتقليل حجم الخط اضغط هنا للحجم الافتراضي اضغط هنا لزيادة حجم الخط

تاريخ شرطة عُمان السلطانية


إن تحقيق الأمن والطمأنينة والاستقرار هي غاية كل مجتمع والمجتمع منذ القدم يتميز بتنظيم مجتمعي وفر له الاستقرار . ورفد هذا التنظيم بنظام مبسط تقع عليه مسؤولية حفظ الأمن في المجتمع العماني وهو ما يسمى بالعسكر الذين كانوا يأتون مهاما بسيطة من العمل الشرطي كحراسة الأسواق ومساعدة السلطات في تنفيذ الأحكام ... وقد كان لكل ولاية مجموعة من الأفراد تعينهم الحكومة لحفظ الأمن وتنفيذ الأوامر دون أن يتلقوا أي تدريب نظامي أو يكون لهم زي رسمي خاص . غير أنهم كانوا يحملون البنادق التقليدية و يتمنطقون بأحزمة الذخيرة . وكانت أعلى رتبة في هذا النظام عقيد العسكر ويأتي بعده نائب العقيد الذي يساعد العقيد في الإشراف على مجموعة العسكر .

ومع إطلالة فجر النهضة المباركة في عام 1970م لحق بالعمل الشرطي من التطور في السلطنة ما لحق غيره من القطاعات بحيث أصبح على ما هي عليه الآن وقد شهدت شرطة عمان السلطانية انطلاقة جديدة في نشاطها بانضمام السلطنة إلى المنظمة الدولية للشرطة الجنائية (الإنتريول) عام 1972م وانضمامها في نفس العام إلى(المنظمة العربية للدفاع الاجتماعي ضد الجريمة) بما أعطى دفعة كبيرة لأنشطتها .

وفي احتفال أقيم بمدرسة تدريب الشرطة في 4 نوفمبر 1974م بمناسبة تسليم (راية الشرطة) وجه جلالة السلطان إلى رجال الشرطة كلمة جاء فيها:

" إننا إذ نسلمكم اليوم رايتنا ورايتكم الخاصة . راية الشرطة . قررنا تسمية (شرطة عمان السلطانية) وستعرفون من اليوم بهذا الاسم"

وبفضل التخطيط النير للقائد الأعلى للشرطة وما وضعه من خطوات ومراحل لهذا التطور أصبحت شرطة عمان السلطانية على ما هي عليه أضحى اليوم تنهض بمهام مختلفة شرفت بأدائها . وقد أضحى اليوم هيكلها وتنظيمها على نحو متطور يتماشى مع متطلبات العصر والمهام الموكولة لها ويمكن الإطلاع على صفحة تنظيم شرطتنا والإبحار في تفاصيل أكثر لهذا التنظيم .

بعض المعلومات عن تنظيم الشرطة تفضلوا للمشاهدة.

لتصفح المزيد من التفاصيل يمكنك أيضا زيارة الاحداث التاريخية لشرطة عمان السلطانية عبر هذه الوصلة

 

 

ROP History